09 May, 2016

{{Book Review}} You're the One That I Want

Owen Christiansen has been in a downward spiral since an injury ended his NHL career. But a job on an Alaskan crabbing boat offers a fresh start . . . maybe even a shot at romance with Elise “Scotty” McFlynn, the captain’s daughter.

Used to being one of the guys, to never relying on anyone, Scotty doesn’t believe in happily ever after―especially with someone like Owen. Her instinct is confirmed when Casper Christiansen arrives to drag his prodigal brother home, bringing with him a truckload of family drama―and even worse, the news that Casper is wanted for questioning in connection to a crime back in Minnesota.

But Owen is more than the sum of his mistakes, a truth both he and Scotty discover when she escorts both brothers to Deep Haven as part of her new job on the Anchorage police force. Thrust into an unfamiliar world of family, faith, and fresh starts, Scotty begins to see potential for a happy ending . . . if she’s brave enough to embrace it.

*My Review*
I absolutely LOVE this book, the Christiansen family, and this whole series. Susan writes about people just like us. They aren’t glorified in any way whatsoever. They have flaws and make mistakes that have consequences.I love that they are completely relatable even though their circumstances may be different than ours.

There are some major hilarious parts in this book between Owen and Scotty. I couldn’t stop smiling while reading a few parts of this book. It was amazing.

I love the the call to “have faith” throughout the book. Owen and his family are going through some hard times and they wrestle with believing God can and WILL provide for them. The struggles are the same for us when we face hard times.

The Christiansen Family series

Book 1: Take A Chance on Me

Book 2: It Had To Be You

Book 3: When I Fall In Love

Book 4: Always on My Mind

Book 5: The Wonder of You

Book 6: You’re the One That I Want 

No comments:

Post a Comment